Home / Coding agents / Cursor

Cursor review

An AI code editor whose agents edit, test and ship code locally or in cloud VMs.

SpaceX completed its $60 billion acquisition of Cursor maker Anysphere on August 14, 2026, and OpenAI plans to end Cursor's access to its models on November 12, 2026 18.

Verdict

Cursor suits developers and teams that want a fast local agent plus parallel cloud agents that hand back tested pull requests 4,5. The catch is cost and change: heavy agent use runs $60 to $200 or more a month, and after the SpaceX takeover OpenAI plans to pull its models on November 12, 2026 2,18.

Good fit if you are

  • Developers who want one agent across a desktop editor, CLI and cloud VMs
  • Teams that run many parallel background agents from Slack, GitHub or Linear
  • Buyers who want to mix Grok, Claude and Gemini models in one tool

Look elsewhere if you are

  • Teams that depend on OpenAI models after November 2026
  • Buyers who need a fixed monthly bill with no usage overage
  • Organizations whose vendor policies rule out SpaceX ownership

Pros and cons

What we like

  • Cloud agents run in isolated VMs, test their own changes and return merge-ready pull requests with screenshots and videos 4.
  • Agents start from the desktop app, web, iOS, Slack, GitHub, Linear or the API 4.
  • Run Modes combine allowlists, a safety classifier and sandboxed shell commands, and checkpoints roll back agent edits 5,6.
  • Choice of Cursor's own Grok and Composer models or Claude, GPT and Gemini at API rates 2.
  • SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 42001 and AIUC-1 certified 8.

What to watch

  • OpenAI plans to cut off its models in Cursor on November 12, 2026, and will not supply future models 18.
  • Included usage is not stated in dollars; daily agent users typically spend $60 to $100 a month 2.
  • Teams pay an extra $0.25 per million tokens on third-party models, even with their own API keys 3.
  • Privacy Mode is only on by default for Enterprise; with it off, Cursor may train on your code 9,10.
  • Local agent edits save to disk without approval, and the Auto-review classifier is not a security boundary 6,7.

Key facts

Made byAnysphere (SpaceX)
PricingFrom $20/month (Pro); Teams $40 per user/month; extra usage at model API rates
Cost per developer$60 a month (Pro+ plan, billed monthly; Cursor recommends Pro+ for daily agent users, who typically spend $60 to $100 a month in total usage)
Also requiresCloud agents need a paid plan and a connected GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket or Azure DevOps account
Where it runsIDE, Terminal, Cloud (background), Web app, GitHub, Slack
AI modelsGrok 4.5 to 4.7 and Composer 2.5 in the Cursor Models pool, plus Claude, GPT, Gemini and other third-party models at API rates 2; OpenAI models are due to be cut off on November 12, 2026 18
Works withJetBrains, Xcode, GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Linear, Jira, Notion
Security reportsSOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 42001, AIUC-1
Free trialNo trial published; free Hobby plan

What Cursor is

Cursor is an AI code editor and agent platform from Anysphere. Its agent runs in the desktop app, the CLI and JetBrains IDEs, and cloud agents run in isolated VMs that you start from the web, iOS, Slack, GitHub, Linear or an API 4,21. Integrations also cover Microsoft Teams, Jira, Notion and Xcode 12. Cursor ships its own models, Composer 2.5 and Grok 4.5 to 4.7 jointly trained with SpaceXAI, alongside third-party models from Anthropic, OpenAI and Google 2.

SpaceX agreed to buy Anysphere for $60 billion in stock in June 2026 17 and completed the deal on August 14 18. Cursor says the deal gives it access to the largest GPU fleet in the world 16. OpenAI then said it would end Cursor's access to its models, with a proposed shutoff of November 12, 2026; Cursor's CEO said OpenAI models serve about 5% of its traffic 18. In August Cursor also launched Origin, a code-hosting service that syncs with GitHub 20.

What it can do

Locally, the agent searches your code and the web, edits files, runs shell commands, drives a browser and asks clarifying questions while it works 5. It saves checkpoints before big changes so you can roll files back 5. Run Modes set its autonomy: Auto-review runs allowlisted calls, sandboxes other shell commands and sends the rest to a classifier; Allowlist runs only trusted actions; Run Everything never asks 6. Terminal commands and MCP tool calls need approval by default 7.

Cloud agents clone your repo from GitHub, GitLab, Azure DevOps or Bitbucket, work on a separate branch and push changes back 4. Each runs in its own VM with dependencies, secrets and network controls, can use the software it changed, supports MCP servers and repository hooks, and returns a pull request with screenshots, videos and logs 4. Cloud agents bill at API rates for the chosen model, and you set a spend limit the first time you use them 4.

  • Actions. The local agent searches the codebase, edits multiple files, runs terminal commands, drives a browser and checkpoints its work 5. Cloud agents run in isolated VMs, build and test the changed software, work across multiple repositories and open merge-ready pull requests 4.
  • Setup. Install the desktop app or CLI and work locally 5; for cloud agents an admin connects source control, and environments are set up by the agent, from a snapshot or from a Dockerfile in .cursor/environment.json 4.
  • Reviewing its changes. Locally you review edits and restore checkpoints to undo them 5; cloud agents push to a separate branch and hand off merge-ready pull requests with screenshots, videos and logs 4.
  • Analytics. Teams get usage analytics and per-user spending data through the Admin API, and Enterprise adds audit logs, an AI code tracking API and OpenTelemetry export 1,3,11.

Pricing

Individual plans cost $20 (Pro), $60 (Pro+) and $200 (Ultra) a month, with a free Hobby tier 1,2. Each paid plan includes two usage pools: Cursor Models for Grok and Composer, and Other Models for third-party models at API prices 2. Cursor does not state the included amounts in dollars, but says daily agent users typically spend $60 to $100 a month and power users $200 or more 2. Past the allowance, on-demand usage bills in arrears at the same API rates 2. Teams seats cost $40 (Standard) or $120 (Premium, with 5x the usage), and third-party model requests carry a $0.25 per million tokens Cursor Token Rate, including bring-your-own-key usage 3. Per-member spend limits and pooled usage need Enterprise, which is priced by quote 1,3. A developer using agents daily should budget for Pro+ at $60 a month 1,2.

PlanPriceIncludes
HobbyFree1Limited Agent requests and access to Composer
Pro$20/month1,2Extended Agent limits, frontier models, cloud agents, MCPs, skills and hooks, Bugbot on usage-based billing
Pro+$60/month1,2More included usage than Pro; recommended for daily agent users
Ultra$200/month1,2Largest individual allowance; recommended for agent power users
Start (India only)₹649/month, tax included2Cursor Models pool and cloud agents; no third-party models, Bugbot or on-demand usage
Teams Standard$40 per user/month1,3Team billing, Bugbot code reviews, shared cloud agents and automations, usage analytics, team-wide privacy mode, SAML/OIDC SSO
Teams Premium$120 per user/month3Everything in Standard with 5x the Standard seat's Agent usage
EnterpriseQuote only1Pooled usage, invoicing, SCIM, repository, model and MCP access controls, audit logs, AI code tracking API
On-demand usageModel API list price per million tokens (e.g. Grok 4.7: $2 input, $6 output); Teams add $0.25 per million tokens on third-party models2,3Usage beyond the plan allowance, billed in arrears

Security and data

Cursor holds AIUC-1, ISO 27001:2022 and ISO 42001:2023 certifications and a SOC 2 Type II attestation, with reports on request 8. With Privacy Mode on, Cursor does not train on your data and holds zero data retention agreements with model providers 10. Privacy Mode is on by default for Enterprise and can be enforced team-wide on Teams 9; with it off, Cursor may store and train on code and prompts 10. Cloud agents are the only feature that stores code: encrypted copies kept while the agent runs and deleted afterwards, with customer-managed keys on Enterprise 9. Enterprise teams can enroll in US-only data residency at a 10% model price uplift 9. Claude Fable models need admin approval because Anthropic retains their data 9.

  • Zero data retention. Zero data retention with model providers when Privacy Mode is on; Privacy Mode is on by default for Enterprise 9,10
  • Data residency. US-only on Enterprise at a 10% model price uplift; EU and Iceland inference-only on request 9
  • Training on your data. Code is not used for training with Privacy Mode on; with it off, Cursor may store and train on code and prompts 10
  • AI models. Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, SpaceXAI and Meta, plus Cursor's own Composer models 2,10

What customers say

Cursor holds 4.6 stars from 323 G2 reviews 22 and 4.6 from 100 ratings on Gartner Peer Insights in the enterprise AI coding agents market 23. A G2 reviewer praises whole-codebase context but flags usage limits and slower indexing on large repositories 22. Cursor names Stripe, Coinbase, Brex, Mercado Libre and Rippling among its customers 13, publishes a Nokia case study 15 and claims use at 64% of the Fortune 500 14. Independent coverage in 2026 focused on the SpaceX deal and OpenAI's exit 17,18 and on Cursor's late disclosure that Composer 2 started from Moonshot AI's Kimi model 19.

PlatformRatingReviewsSeen
G2 (Cursor)224.6 / 53238 October 2026
Gartner Peer Insights (Cursor (Enterprise AI Coding Agents))234.6 / 51008 October 2026

What Anysphere (SpaceX) claims (not independently verified):

  • Used by 64% of Fortune 500 companies and more than 50,000 enterprises 14
  • 93% of engineers pick Cursor in head-to-head evaluations 14
  • Brex: more than 70% of engineers use Cursor 13
  • Upwork: PR volume up more than 25% and about 50% more code shipped 13
  • Rippling: adoption grew from 150 to more than 500 engineers in a few weeks 13
  • Nokia analyzed 50M+ lines of code in two weeks 15

Concerns raised by others:

  • OpenAI says it will end Cursor's access to its models, with a proposed shutoff of November 12, 2026, citing SpaceX ownership 18.
  • Cursor launched its Composer 2 model without disclosing that it was built on Moonshot AI's Kimi K2.5; a co-founder called that a miss 19.
  • A G2 reviewer reports burning through plan limits quickly on large codebases, with usage only clear after the fact 22.

How we scored it

CriterionWhyScore
What it can do
30% of the total
The agent edits, runs commands and checkpoints locally 5, and cloud agents in isolated VMs build, test, span repositories, use MCP servers and open merge-ready pull requests 4.5/5
Pricing
20% of the total
Every plan price and per-token overage rate is public 1,2, but included usage is described as extended or generous rather than in numbers 1.4/5
Control
20% of the total
Run Modes offer allowlists, a classifier or full auto with sandboxed shell commands 6, checkpoints undo agent edits 5, cloud work arrives as pull requests 4, and Enterprise adds access controls and audit logs 1,11.5/5
Security and data
15% of the total
Cursor holds SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and ISO 42001 8 and offers zero data retention under Privacy Mode 10, but Privacy Mode is only on by default for Enterprise 9.4/5
Customer evidence
15% of the total
Cursor scores 4.6 from 323 G2 reviews 22 and 4.6 from 100 Gartner ratings 23, and names customers such as Stripe, Coinbase and Brex 13.5/5
TotalWeighted sum of the 5 levels, out of 10.9.3

Sources

  1. Pricing — Cursor, accessed 8 October 2026
  2. Models & Pricing — Cursor Docs, accessed 8 October 2026
  3. Team Pricing — Cursor Docs, accessed 8 October 2026
  4. Cloud Agents — Cursor Docs, accessed 8 October 2026
  5. Cursor Agent — Cursor Docs, accessed 8 October 2026
  6. Run Modes — Cursor Docs, accessed 8 October 2026
  7. Agent Security — Cursor Docs, accessed 8 October 2026
  8. Security — Cursor, accessed 8 October 2026
  9. Privacy and Data Governance — Cursor Docs, accessed 8 October 2026
  10. Data Use & Privacy Overview — Cursor, accessed 8 October 2026
  11. Compliance and Monitoring — Cursor Docs, accessed 8 October 2026
  12. Cursor Documentation index (integrations: JetBrains, Xcode, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Jira, Linear, Notion, GitHub, GitLab, Azure DevOps, Bitbucket) — Cursor Docs, accessed 8 October 2026
  13. Customers — Cursor, accessed 8 October 2026
  14. Cursor for Enterprise — Cursor, accessed 8 October 2026
  15. Nokia analyzes 50M+ lines of code in two weeks with Cursor — Cursor, accessed 8 October 2026
  16. Cursor is now a part of SpaceX — Cursor, accessed 8 October 2026
  17. SpaceX to acquire Cursor for $60B in stock, days after blockbuster IPO — TechCrunch, accessed 8 October 2026
  18. OpenAI to end model access to Cursor after acquisition by Elon Musk's SpaceX — CNBC, accessed 8 October 2026
  19. Cursor admits its new coding model was built on top of Moonshot AI's Kimi — TechCrunch, accessed 8 October 2026
  20. Cursor capitalizes on GitHub frustration, launches rival hosting platform — TechCrunch, accessed 8 October 2026
  21. JetBrains — Cursor Docs, accessed 8 October 2026
  22. Cursor Reviews — G2, accessed 8 October 2026
  23. Cursor Reviews & Ratings (Enterprise AI Coding Agents) — Gartner Peer Insights, accessed 8 October 2026