Verdict
Devin suits engineering teams that want to hand well-scoped tickets, migrations and bug fixes to a cloud agent and review the pull requests it prepares 1,7. The catch is cost visibility: quotas are not stated in numbers, extra usage bills at API rates, and Enterprise ACU prices are private 2,5,6.
Good fit if you are
- Teams with a backlog of well-scoped tickets, migrations and bug fixes to delegate
- Developers who want to start work from Slack, Linear or Jira and review PRs later
- Enterprises that need single-tenant VPC deployment, custom roles and audit logs
Look elsewhere if you are
- Open-ended or very hard tasks that need constant engineering judgment
- Budget owners who need numeric usage limits before they commit
- Federal teams that need FedRAMP High for the cloud agent today
Pros and cons
What we like
- Works end to end in its own VM with a shell, IDE and browser, and prepares pull requests for review 1,7.
- Sessions start from the web app, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Linear or Jira tickets, the API or the CLI 7.
- The CLI hands work to a cloud session and back again, uncommitted changes included 10.
- Self-serve plans are public, from $20 a month for Pro with Devin Cloud access 2.
- Enterprise adds custom roles, per-user ACU caps, audit logs and a single-tenant VPC option 15,16,17,23.
What to watch
- Quotas are described as 'increased' or 'significantly higher', and extra usage runs at API list prices 2,5.
- Enterprise is billed in ACUs at a rate set in each order form, so list prices are not public 6.
- Cognition's own guidance rules out extremely difficult tasks and points to work a developer could finish in about three hours 7.
- On self-serve plans, data may be used for model training until a paid workspace opts out 19.
- Devin Cloud is still in process for FedRAMP High, IL4 and ITAR, unlike the CLI and Devin Desktop 22.
Key facts
| Made by | Cognition |
|---|---|
| Pricing | $20/month Pro; usage past quota at API list prices |
| Cost per developer | $20 a month (Pro plan, billed monthly; usage past the daily and weekly quota is billed at API list prices) |
| Also requires | Needs a GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket or Azure DevOps connection; cloud agents need Pro or above |
| Where it runs | Cloud (background), Web app, Terminal, IDE, Slack, GitHub |
| AI models | Claude, GPT and Gemini models, open models such as DeepSeek, Kimi and GLM, and Cognition's own SWE models 13 |
| Works with | GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Linear, Jira, Devin Desktop, Sentry, Datadog |
| Security reports | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 |
| Free trial | No trial published; Free plan available |
What Devin is
Devin is Cognition's autonomous AI software engineer. It writes, runs and tests code in its own virtual machine with a shell, IDE and browser, and prepares pull requests for review 1,7. Cognition aims it at tickets, migrations, bug fixes and internal tools, and says a task a developer could finish in about three hours is a good fit 7. The Devin brand now also covers Devin CLI and Devin Desktop, the editor formerly sold as Windsurf 29.
Cognition bought Windsurf in July 2025 28. In September 2026 it raised $2 billion at a $48 billion valuation, with annualized revenue near $900 million, up from $492 million in May 26,27. TechCrunch lists Mercedes-Benz, NASA, Goldman Sachs and Citi among its major enterprise customers 27.
What it can do
You connect GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket or Azure DevOps and configure an environment: a Linux VM snapshot with your repos, tools, dependencies and secrets that every session boots from 8. Windows and macOS snapshots are optional 8. Sessions start from the web app, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Linear or Jira, the API or the CLI, and you can take over in Devin's IDE at any point 7. MCP servers, installed from a marketplace or added as stdio, SSE or HTTP servers, connect Devin to tools such as Sentry, Datadog and Linear 9.
Locally, Devin CLI runs in modes from Normal, where every write and command needs approval, to Autonomous, where commands run inside an OS-level sandbox 11,12. Allow, ask and deny rules cover reads, writes, commands, web fetches and MCP tools, and organization rules cannot be overridden 11. The /handoff command moves a local session to the cloud with its branch and uncommitted changes, or pulls a cloud PR branch back to your machine 10. Devin Review checks pull requests on GitHub, GitLab and Azure DevOps 14.
- Actions. Devin writes, runs and tests code in a Linux VM with its own shell, IDE and browser, and prepares pull requests 1,7. It can boot Windows or macOS environments if configured and call external tools through MCP servers 8,9.
- Setup. Connect your git provider, then configure an environment snapshot with repos, dependencies, variables and secrets that every session boots from 8. The CLI installs with a single curl command 7.
- Reviewing its changes. Devin prepares pull requests for human review, and Devin Review sends findings on Devin's own PRs back to the session to fix before posting what remains 7,14.
- Analytics. Session Insights analyses completed sessions and suggests better prompts 18, Teams gets an admin dashboard with analytics 2, and enterprises pull analytics and audit logs from the Enterprise API 17.
Pricing
In April 2026 Cognition moved self-serve plans from ACUs to token quotas, with overage billed in dollars 4. Free costs nothing, Pro is $20 a month with Devin Cloud and up to 10 concurrent sessions, and Max is $200 a month for a much larger weekly quota with no daily cap 2,3. Teams has an $80 monthly minimum: full seats cost $40 and carry a Pro-sized quota, while free flex seats draw on a shared pool of on-demand credits 3. Quotas reset daily and weekly and are measured in tokens, so how far they go depends on the model and context you use 5. Past the quota you pay API list prices for the model, and purchased credits roll over 3,5. Enterprise is billed in ACUs at the rate in your order form 6. Ask Devin's Deep Mode, Devin Review and premium DeepWiki generation are now usage-billed, though Devin Review stays free for open-source repos 4.
| Plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $02 | Light agent quota, limited models, unlimited Tab completions and inline edits in Devin Desktop |
| Pro | $20/month2,3 | Daily and weekly quota, frontier models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and SpaceXAI, Devin Cloud agents, up to 10 concurrent sessions, extra usage at API pricing |
| Max | $200/month2,3 | Everything in Pro with a significantly larger weekly quota and no daily cap |
| Teams | $80/month minimum + $40/month per full seat2,3 | Up to 200 members; full seats get a Pro-sized quota and Devin Desktop; free flex seats draw on shared on-demand credits; admin dashboard with analytics |
| Enterprise | Quote only2,6 | Billed in ACUs; SAML/OIDC SSO, centralized admin controls, VPC deployment option |
| Extra usage | API list price of the model used3,5 | Usage beyond the plan quota on paid plans; purchased credits roll over and never expire |
Security and data
Cognition has held SOC 2 Type II since September 2024 and lists ISO/IEC 27001:2022 in its trust center, where reports sit behind an NDA 19,21. Data is encrypted in transit and at rest and kept for the length of the customer relationship 19. Enterprise data is never used for training without written consent 19. On self-serve plans Cognition may use data for training by default; a paid workspace can opt out, which also enables zero data retention with model providers, and on Teams only an admin can do it 19. Another Cognition page says it does not train on customer code by default, so get the terms in writing 20. Enterprises can run Devin in a single-tenant VPC reached over AWS PrivateLink or IPSec 23. Devin Cloud is in process for FedRAMP High, IL4 and ITAR, which Devin CLI and Devin Desktop already hold 22.
- Zero data retention. Zero data retention with model providers turns on when a paid workspace opts out of training 19
- Data residency. Single-tenant deployment in a customer-isolated VPC on Enterprise; regions not published 23
- Training on your data. Enterprise data is never used for training without written consent; self-serve data may be used by default until a paid workspace opts out 19
- AI models. Anthropic, OpenAI and Google, plus open models and Cognition's SWE models 2,13
What customers say
Independent proof comes mainly from the press. Goldman Sachs CIO Marco Argenti said the bank would deploy hundreds of Devin instances, possibly thousands, under human supervision 25. TechCrunch names Mercedes-Benz, NASA, Goldman Sachs, Citi and Santander as customers 26,27. The same coverage notes that researchers found earlier versions struggled with complex coding work 25. Cognition publishes customer stories from Mercedes-Benz, AngelList, Litera, Nubank and others, several with hard numbers 24.
What Cognition claims (not independently verified):
- If a developer can do a task in three hours, Devin can most likely do it 7
- Mercedes-Benz: COBOL migration cut from 8 months to 8 days 24
- AngelList: 5.2x faster migration 24
- RV Tech: 10x testing velocity 24
- Litera: 90% reduction in regression cycles 24
- Odyssey Logistics: 37% net cost saving 24
- Finch Legal: 3,000 PRs merged and 20 months saved 24
Concerns raised by others:
- TechCrunch reported that researchers had found Devin struggled with more complex coding work, before version 2.1 improved on large codebases 25.
How we scored it
| Criterion | Why | Score |
|---|---|---|
| What it can do 30% of the total | Devin plans, codes, runs tests and prepares PRs in its own VM 7, works locally through the CLI with two-way handoff to the cloud 10, and extends through MCP 9. | 5/5 |
| Pricing 20% of the total | Free, Pro, Max and Teams prices are public and overage uses API list prices, but quotas are not stated in numbers and Enterprise ACU rates are private 2,5,6. | 4/5 |
| Control 20% of the total | Sessions run in isolated VMs and land as PRs 7,23, the CLI offers approve-each-action to sandboxed modes with org-locked rules 11,12, and enterprises get RBAC, usage caps and audit logs 15,16,17, but no undo or checkpoint feature is documented. | 4/5 |
| Security and data 15% of the total | Cognition holds SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 and offers zero data retention after a training opt-out 19,21, but self-serve data may be used for training by default 19. | 4/5 |
| Customer evidence 15% of the total | Goldman Sachs plans to deploy hundreds of Devin instances under supervision 25, TechCrunch names Mercedes-Benz, NASA and Citi as customers 27, and Cognition publishes stories with numbers 24, though the proof is press coverage and vendor stories rather than review-platform scores or benchmarks. | 4/5 |
| Total | Weighted sum of the 5 levels, out of 10. | 8.6 |
Sources
- Devin | The AI Software Engineer
- Plans and Pricing
- Self-serve plans
- New self-serve plans for Devin
- Quota
- Enterprise billing
- Introducing Devin
- Devin environment setup
- Devin MCP servers and marketplace
- Handoff
- Permissions
- Sandbox
- Models
- Devin Review
- Custom Roles & RBAC
- Usage policies: per-user ACU limits
- API Overview
- Session Insights
- Security at Cognition
- Enterprise security
- Cognition Trust Center
- Compliance (federal deployments)
- Deployment overview
- Customers
- Goldman Sachs is testing viral AI agent Devin as a 'new employee'
- AI coding startup Cognition raises $1B at $25B pre-money valuation
- Cognition hits $48B valuation, signaling investors believe AI coding is far from a winner-take-all market
- Cognition, maker of the AI coding agent Devin, acquires Windsurf
- Windsurf is now Devin Desktop
